Chakras are energy centres of spiritual power in the human body .The word ‘chakra’ is derived from the sanskrit word meaning ‘wheel’. Literally translated from Hindi it means ‘Wheel of spinning Energy’. A chakra is like a whirling, vortex like, powerhouse of energy. Within our bodies you have seven of these major energy centres and many more minor ones.The chakras can have various levels of activity. When they're "open," they're considered operative in a normal fashion.Sometimes chakras become blocked because of stress, emotional or physical problems. If the body’s ‘energy system’ can not flow freely it is likely that problems will occur. The consequence of irregular energy flow may result in physical illness and discomfort or a sense of being mentally and emotionally out of balance.

Each chakra is associated with a certain part of the body and a certain organ which it provides with the energy it needs to function. Additionally, just as every organ in the human body has its equivalent on the mental and spiritual level, so too every chakra corresponds to a specific aspect of human behavior and development. Our circular spirals of energy differ in size and activity from person to person. They vibrate at different levels relative to the awareness of the individual and their ability to integrate the characteristics of each into their life.  The lower chakras are associated with fundamental emotions and needs, for the energy here vibrates at a lower frequency and is therefore denser in nature. The finer energies of the upper chakras corresponds to our higher mental and spiritual aspirations and faculties.

There exist many techniques to balance and open chakras. Chakra meditations ,Crystal Healing  , Positive  Healing Affirmations , Reiki Healing to mention a few can all be used to heal the chakras .

To get a chakra analysis click here


Root Chakra  


Represents feeling ‘rooted’ or grounded, represents our foundation and stability

Colour: Red

Location: Base of the spine / tailbone area.

Emotions linked with this chakra: Survival  and all related to this , such as Safety, Security, Money, Family,Home, Food and Financial Independence.

Crystal : Red Jasper

Affirmation : I am safe, I am Secure, I am, I am, I am.


Sacral Chakra


Represents  creativity, feelings and emotions,pleasure, sexuality and your ability to accept joy and happiness in your life.

Colour: Orange

Location: Lower abdomen about 2 inches below the navel.

Emotions linked with this chakra: Sense of pleasure,Intimacy,  Enjoyment, Abundance, Sexuality, Creativity, Joy, Happiness

Crystal: Orange Carnelian

Affirmation : Life is easy, Life is fun.


Solar Plexus Chakra


Represents confidence, thoughts and feelings, and our ability to be in control of our lives

Colour: Yellow

Location: Upper abdomen/stomach area

Emotions linked with this chakra: Desire, Vitality, Self-confidence, Self-esteem, Self-Worth and Personal Power, Energy.

Crystal: Citrine

Affirmation: I trust in the process of life.


Heart Chakra


Represents our ability to love and be loved, to enjoy what we love

Colour: Green

Location: Centre of chest

Emotions linked with this chakra: Hope, Giving and Receiving, Kindness, Love, Compassion, Inner Peace, Forgiveness and Gratitude

Crystal: Rose Quartz, Green Aventurine

Affirmation: I open my Heart to Love


Throat Chakra


Represents our ability to express ourselves and communicate clearly and to speak our truth

Colour: Blue

Location: The throat

Emotions linked with this chakra: Communication, Self-Expression, Speaking your Truth, Identity

Crystal: Sodalite, Lapis Lazuli

Affirmation: I speak my truth with ease and grace.


Third Eye Chakra


Represents our ability to see the big picture, inner knowing, insight and vision, Intuition

Colour: Indigo

Location: On your forehead, between your eyes

Emotions linked with this chakra: Ability to think clearly and make decisions, Imagination, Wisdom, Insomnia, Focus.

Crystal: Amethyst

Affirmation: I see that my life is unfolding exactly as it should.


Crown Chakra


Represents our ability to connect fully with our spiritual selves

Colour - White/Violet

Location: At the very top of your head (a few inches above the head )

Emotions linked with this chakra: pure bliss, inner and outer beauty, our connection to our own spirituality and that of the universe, divine wisdom, faith. 

Crystal: Clear Quartz

Affirmation : I am complete and one with divine energy.